• steelplatedmech@piefed.ca
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    6
    ·
    6 days ago

    Depends on what you used. If you used power delete suite then that was limited by the number of comments accessible on your profile, so one run wouldn’t overwrite or delete your comments. You’d have to keep running it over and over again once your profile became repopulated with comments that weren’t showing before. So it wasn’t something that could be done in one go.

    Proper way to do it back then was to put in a request for GDPR, and use those files with reddit api and use shreddit to overwrite and delete all the comments.

    • InvalidName2@lemmy.zip
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      3
      ·
      6 days ago

      shreddit

      That one sounds familiar, so it may be what I used.

      I confirmed all my comments and posts were gone at that time, and I think I had to run the tool multiple times. In addition, I’ve heard folks mention that their content was restored after doing this delete, so from time to time I’d go back and check to confirm all my stuff is gone. However, after a while I just never went back to look, so it’s likely been well over a year since I last confirmed.

      This time it was just really strange to see my former username in the google search results after being away for 2 - 3 years, so I was expecting to click and see [deleted] on my comments. NOPE.

      • steelplatedmech@piefed.ca
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        3
        ·
        edit-2
        6 days ago

        Yeah you have to check that specific comments you deleted remain deleted, since ones that showed up could just be ones that regular automated deleting methods couldn’t access at the time due to profile comment display limits.

        So the profile might have a limit of displaying 1000 comments and if you ran something like power delete suite it would delete 1000, but if you had more than that like 5000 comments there would be 4000 left that wasn’t deleted due to being inaccessible at the time. After some time the next 1000 would show up in the profile that hadn’t been viewable before. So you’d basically have to run it like 5 times to delete everything over weeks.

        I do remember people recommending to rewrite comments and then delete later in case comments are restored. Some using messages like this comment has be deleted and if you are seeing this it means it has been restored.